Thursday, November 30, 2006

Historical Observances

Visitors to this site will be interested to know that two historical observances are planned in December. They both commerate events from 1871. The first is the 135th annivesary celebration of First UMC, Sour Lake, on Sunday, Dec. 10 at 11:00. The second will occur the following Saturday, December 16. It is the historical marker dedication at Leesville in memory of the ordination of Alejo Hernandez by the West Texas Conference of the MECS . The marker dedication will be at 1:30 p.m. at Leesville in Gonzales County.


Blogger gmw said...

Bill, thanks for the posts. Your mentioning the Sour Lake anniversary gets me wondering what churches are the oldest in our annual conference and which ones had great prominance at one time. Of course Chapel Hill comes to mind in the latter category.

11:02 PM  
Blogger Wm. C. Hardt said...

Dear Guy, I'm bound to get in trouble for leaving some out, but the oldest churches in the Texas Conference tend to be clustered around the points of entry used by immigrants to Texas. McMahan's Chapel (oldest) San Augustine, Crockett along the Old San Antonio Road; DeKalb, Dalby Springs, Jefferson, Marshall along the northeastern entrance; and Houston, Galveston, and Liberty as the coastal approaches. Of course this is really simplified.

The appointments for the Texas Mission District of the Mississippi Conference for 1839 included Houston, Galveston, Nacogdoches, Washington, Montgomery, and Brazoria. The Northeastern charges (from Jefferson north to the Red River) had been receiving preachers from Arkansas even before that.

As far as buildings go San Felipe appears to be the oldest, but naturally any claim of priority is in constant danger of being refuted by new evidence.

Thanks for the comments, Bill

6:46 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home