Saturday, March 07, 2009


The Executive Committee of the Texas United Methodist Historical Society has announced that the annual meeting will be held at Kessler Park United Methodist Church, 1215 Turner Ave., Dallas, Texas. Registration will begin at noon on Friday, March 27. The afternoon program will consist of historical papers concerning the careers of two founding presidents of Texas Methodist universities, J. W. Hunt and Robert S. Hyer, who founded McMurry University and SMU respoectively. The keynote speaker at the Friday evening banquet will be Dr. Ted Campbell of Perkins School of Theology.

Saturday morning will feature Bishop John Wesley Hardt speaking on the subject of how revivals influenced decisions for church vocation. Saturday morning will also feature the business meeting of the TUMHS and the announcement of the 2009 Kate Warnick Awards for best published local church histories.

A registration fee of $25 (which includes dinner) may be sent to the Rev. John C. Johnson at 6766 Silver Saddle Rd., Fort Worth, Tx 76126. Make checks payable to TUMHS.


Post a Comment

<< Home